Questions about Online Buddhist Forum

A forum for beginners and members of other Buddhist traditions to ask questions about Theravāda (The Way of the Elders). Responses require moderator approval before they are visible in order to double-check alignment to Theravāda orthodoxy.
BunnyGiraffe

Questions about Online Buddhist Forum

Post by BunnyGiraffe »

Hi everyone. I'm new to Buddhism and I am taking a Buddhism class in college right now.
Here are my two questions that I want to ask and get some responses, because I cannot really find the answers in class.
First, what bring you guys here to discuss Buddhist practice online? Do you also participate in offline Buddhist communities? What's the difference between the offline and online forum? Which one is more helpful to you?
Second, my grandparents back to China believe in karma and incarnation. They believe that the suffering you are experiencing in current life is caused by the bad karma from your past life because you did something bad. Therefore, you have to pay back in this life, being mercy and keep practicing Buddhism so that you will have a favorable rebirth after you die.(especially when you have serious disease or you have issues with your family and marriage) Do you believe in it?
Thank you so much and I'm looking forward to hearing your response, so that I can have a better understanding of Buddhism (i think).
Digity

Re: Questions about Online Buddhist Forum

Post by Digity »

I visit this forum to ask questions and share whatever understanding I have of the Dhamma with others. The Buddha placed a great value on having a community that was interested in the Dhamma. This is merely an online representation of such a community. Ideally, one could use the online forum plus a real life sangha, but a lot of people don't have access to both so having this online presence is especially important, because it's the only option for some people.