Is it better to start working gradually or cold turkey?

Exploring Theravāda's connections to other paths - what can we learn from other traditions, religions and philosophies?
ninjbyte

Is it better to start working gradually or cold turkey?

Post by ninjbyte »

Sorry, this is my first post, and I'm not sure whether it belongs more in the Ethics section or here... But it's a pressing question for me, so please, I ask for your advice.

I'm a failing student. I want to change my life, and I've found the dharma. It makes so much sense to me. So now, I want to start following the path wholeheartedly. My question is: I have an enormous amount of irrational fear while I'm studying, or at least trying to - which is the reason I've been avoiding it all the time. I've been pathologically avoiding it for 2 years now. I'm basically trembling while I'm writing this. But I have faith that with committed action, new understanding, and stopping all this avoidance, I can start turning this around.

Is it better to trying to start studying gradually or fully? As in, should I aim to increase the amount of time I study a day (2 hours the first day, then 3 hours, 4 hours), or should I start straight out by studying 8 hours a day every day? Should I aim to feel as much discomfort as possible or practice right effort like in the Sona Sutta?

Please tell me what you think. I'd like to have instructions so I can at least put my mind to rest about them and not having to doubt them.

In case you think 8 is too much, I'm at my fourth year of medicine, and it's actually a moderate amount according to my friends.
TheNoBSBuddhist

Re: Is it better to start working gradually or cold turkey?

Post by TheNoBSBuddhist »

Hello, and welcome, here!

Pardon me if I am mistaken, but would I be right in thinking you have actually posted this on another forum?

(It could be someone else....)
:namaste:

You will not be punished FOR your 'emotions'; you will be punished BY your 'emotions'.