job and working

A discussion on all aspects of Theravāda Buddhism
K.Dhamma

job and working

Post by K.Dhamma »

I just can't seem to be happy at work. I keep trying to follow the "be in the moment" thing but it only works for so long. I am a social worker, but the stress just destroys me. I can't sleep right, insomnia, etcetera. How do I change my perception? I just can't seem to shake this feeling whenever i am at wor and I am about ready to put in my 2 weeks. What am I to do?
"Remember you dont meditate to get anything, but to get rid of things. We do it, not with desire, but with letting go. If you want anything, you wont find it." - Ajahn Chah
cooran

Re: job and working

Post by cooran »

Hello K.Dhamma,

Have you discussed the matter with your professional and operational supervisors?

with metta
Chris
---The trouble is that you think you have time---
---Worry is the Interest, paid in advance, on a debt you may never owe---
---It's not what happens to you in life that is important ~ it's what you do with it ---
K.Dhamma

Post by K.Dhamma »

Yes I have. They tell me that if I can't handle it then I need to move on. The stress comes from management as well as my clients.
"Remember you dont meditate to get anything, but to get rid of things. We do it, not with desire, but with letting go. If you want anything, you wont find it." - Ajahn Chah
ground

Post by ground »

Quit :sage:

Or change focus. if the job is stressful use it to find out how much you can bear or what kind of methods you can apply to bear it or bear it better. There has to be a benefit for yourself, if it is not the money then it may be to learn about dukkha and how to deal with it, to learn about yourself etc. Forget about the conventional purpose of the job, use it for your own benefit but be ready to quit if necessary. Do not appreciate the job. To lose the job is similar dying ... it may happen any time. Become detached from the job while doing it.
cbonanno

Post by cbonanno »