La Rosa y La Mierda - is a handful of each the same?

Introduce yourself to others at Dhamma Wheel.
awooga

La Rosa y La Mierda - is a handful of each the same?

Post by awooga »

Hello All,

Im a Vipassana - Old Student - but just the once like this chap and came across his blog. I've wondered similar in regards to taking pleasure in something.

http://eyeslikesaucers.blogspot.com/200 ... start.html
http://eyeslikesaucers.blogspot.com/200 ... art-2.html

In Part Two he has a question:
"La Rosa y La Mierda (day seven)
Surely it must be a certain type of desire we abandon? I book a ten-minute slot with La Professora on day seven and in my less than perfect Spanish ask the question as clearly as I know how:

"I have a rose in my left hand and a piece of shit in my right. According to the teaching the natural reaction is "Mmmm, la rosa, I want more of this!" and "Urgh, la mierda, get me away!". So am I right in thinking that we are trying to get to the place were we do not react to either, and if offered more rose or more shit we would be completely indifferent? Surely there is a space for enjoying the rose, in the moment, while accepting that it is passing away? When it does, you let it go. Surely there is a space for pleasure without attachment?"
Smiling down at me with kind eyes she shakes her head. "Lo pega", she replies: "It sticks". Pleasure always creates attachment.

What do you make of this analogy and what are your thoughts?

Awooga xox :heart: :hug: :heart:
tiltbillings

Re: La Rosa y La Mierda - is a handful of each the same?

Post by tiltbillings »

• Q: Have you ever looked at the Altar Sutra of the 6th Patriarch, Hui Neng?